Posted in Party Food

Super Snacks

East High School
The building before the one where they filmed High School Musical

I learned to love football in high school.  The games were right after school on Fridays, so almost the whole school would traipse out the backdoor, onto the field and cheer on our beloved men in red and white.  Later in the evening on home games we would also have a dance (be sure to read my sister’s spot on analysis of that event).

When I chose a college I had 2 requirements: 1) it couldn’t be in my home state and 2) it had to have a good football team.  I landed at the UW during the Don James era.  Bliss!

And so it is Super Bowl Sunday.  The kids are away, so no need to pile it on.  They are not football fans, but will sit with me obediently through at least part of the game, provided the snacks are good.  Their favorites are the Chili Cheese dip and silly good guacamole.

With just Steve and I, a more modest spread is in order.  I baked a loaf for a sub sandwich yesterday, and Steve has enough beer to last through the game.  Something special and different was my challenge this year..

Extravagant Stadium model with finger foods
It is possible to go a wee bit overboard with Super Bowl snacks

I’m not a big fan of buffalo chicken wings.  They are a lot of work for a few bites of greasy hotness, and I’ve never been convinced that either ranch or blue cheese was a good foil for the spices in the sauce.

Whilst shopping the other day, I was offered a sample of a buffalo chicken dip on a tortilla chip.  Three words – Yes, yes, yes!  Silly good.  And with everything I didn’t really like about buffalo wings, except the actual wing part.

I asked for the recipe.  The demonstrator was not surprised.  Apparently it was a huge hit with all the shoppers.  When I got the recipe, my enthusiasm diminished a bit, only because I don’t buy canned chicken (ewwwww), but here’s the recipe as written, with my alterations after.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk ranch dressing
  • 1/2 cup Tabasco® Buffalo Style Hot Sauce
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1/3 cup Mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 2 (12.5-ounce) cans of chicken, drained
  • SHV [Shoppers Value – brand name] Chunk Chicken in water, 10 oz.
  • Tortilla chips

Place cream cheese in microwave safe bowl and stir until smooth.  Mix in ranch dressing, hot sauce and cheeses.  Stir in chicken.

Heat mixture in microwave oven for 1 minute, 30 seconds (or until heated throughout) and stir.  If needed, heat in additional 30 second intervals, stirring after each.  Be careful not to overcook.

Serve with tortilla chips.

So the recipe confused me.  Are there 3 cans of chicken and why the difference?  Never mind.  I forged my own path boldly.  I had cooked a turkey and left some of the meat on the bones after packaging the larger bits.  The carcass went into the stock pot to make broth.  When it was done, I picked the meat off the bones for this recipe.  It was soft (akin to packed in water) and mixed well with the other ingredients.  Because I didn’t have quite enough, I chopped up some of the previously saved meat finely and added it, to make a total of 4 CUPS of meat.  It was delicious, and nary a bit of the turkey was wasted.

Leave a Reply

