Posted in Humor

The joys of aging

I was sitting in the waiting room for my first appointment with a new dentist.  I noticed his DDS diploma on the wall which bore his fully name.  Suddenly I remembered a tall, handsome, dark-haired boy with the same name who had been in my high school class some 30-odd years ago.  Could he be the same guy on whom I had a secret crush, way back then?

Credit Pixar Studios

Upon seeing him however, I quickly discarded any such thought.  This balding, gray-haired man with the deeply lined face was way too old to have been my classmate.  After he examined my teeth I asked him if he had attended Morgan Park High School.

“Yes, I did.  I’m a Mustang,” he gleamed with pride.

“When did you graduate?” I asked.

“In 1967, why do you ask?” was the reply.

“You were in my class!” I exclaimed.

He looked at me closely, then that ugly, old, bald, wrinkled faced, fat-arsed, gray-haired, decrepit, son-of-a-beach asked,

“What did you teach?”

~~ Author unknown

4 thoughts on “The joys of aging

  1. Ha ha ha! I know I felt like that when I went to my class reunion. Some people i recognized right away, others I looked at and thought, “Who are these OLD people?”

    Like

    1. Melinda, this wasn’t actually my experience — I was still in elementary school in 1967, but it tickled my funny bone. I’m sure my high school friends look at my Facebook picture and wonder where that young thing they knew went and who this alien is!

      Like

Leave a Reply

