Posted in Meats

Chuck Roast

I don’t watch TV, at least not much.  There was a period of about a decade when we had no broadcast TV at all in our home.  I can say with great pride I have never watched an entire episode of Friends, don’t know what the Housewives are desperate about and think all the medi-crime dramas look like MTV without the music.

What I do watch are a few programs which we TiVo, and movies.  I love Netflix.  They send the movies to my door, don’t care how long I keep them and they suggest movies to me which I wouldn’t normally have thought of viewing. 

I will put the disk in as I’m going to bed.  Sometimes it will take me a week to watch an entire movie as I will doze partway through.  The next night I fast forward until I don’t recognize the action, take it up there and watch till I fall asleep.

This changed with Chuck; I got hooked.  Now I have the opposite problem.  I watch an entire episode and find myself unable to sleep afterwards.  Now my only hope is to watch everything currently available on DVD and check it off in the “done” column. 

Meat is like my movie watching.  I enjoy it, but my preparation is much akin to sleeping through the nightly episode; very perfunctory and uninspired.  Nigella Lawson changed all that for me.  She showed me how throwing some ingredients and a piece of meat into a Ziploc bag overnight could produce main course mouthwatering proteins which were flavorful, tender and eaten by even the most picky of eaters.

In honor of Chuck, here is my marinated delightful

Chuck Roast

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 boneless beef chuck roast (3 to 4 pounds)

Directions

  • In a large resealable plastic bag, combine the orange juice, soy sauce, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce; add the roast. Seal bag and turn to coat; refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.
  • Pour the marinade into a Dutch oven. Bring to a boil; boil for 2 minutes. Add roast to the pan. Cover and bake at 325° for 3 to 3-1/2 hours or until the meat is tender. Let stand for 10 minutes before slicing. Thicken juices for gravy if desired. Yield: 8-10 servings.
Leave a Reply

