Posted in Desserts, family, Party Food

One thin after dinner mint, Monsieur?

James was high on drugs.  All I could do is sit while the doctor worked on him.

It’s not as bad as it sounds.  James was having his wisdom teeth pulled.  I sat in the waiting room, doing what most people do in doctor’s offices,  I was listening to my Zune louder than normal to drown out the country music coming through the office speakers. 

 Oh yes, and I was flipping through magazines.  

I’m a sucker for magazines, as long as I have the time to read them.  I subscribe to 2 because my daughter had a fundraiser at school, but they languish in the corner.  Maybe I should force myself to read while my kids brush their teeth so I get through a couple of them!

I digress.  I was reading a Sunset magazine and came across a delightful dessert buffet idea – many desserts served in unique ways, but all in bite sized bits.  I loved it!  My mind went into overdrive on what to serve how, when I flashed to the upcoming Thanksgiving dinner.  You know the one.  The main meal is served, eaten, eaten and eaten some more and then the inevitable question, “Do you want dessert now or later?”  Usually the answer is later because the stomach can only handle so much at one sitting.

I decided to put out small samplings of several desserts for our meal, but didn’t really just want to take standard recipes and plate them in small bits. The banana bread I made in mini-loaf tins, so the slices were already perfectly minaturized.  Cookies were easy – they already come individually.  Pies were the biggest challenge and I’ll admit to just making the pumpkin, although a new and fun recipe, but this blog is to showcase my apple pie, or rather apple pie bars.

The apple pie bars are served in small bits, atop a shot glass full of milk.  Perfect!  Just enough milk to satisfy the need after a not-too-sweet bite.  They were deemed quite edible and worth repeating.  I think the only wish would be for more apple, but it really isn’t possible as the filling would overflow the pan and make the traditional apple pie at the bottom of the oven mess.

Apple Pie Bars

Adapted from Taste of Home
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 8 to 10 tablespoons cold water
  • FILLING:

  • 7 cups finely chopped peeled apples
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • Dash ground nutmeg
  • GLAZE:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

In a large bowl, combine flour, salt and baking powder. Cut in shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. In a small bowl, whisk egg yolks, lemon juice and water; gradually add to flour mixture, tossing with a fork until dough forms a ball. Divide in half. Chill for 30 minutes.

  • Roll out one portion of dough between two large sheets of waxed paper into a 17-in. x 12-in. rectangle, which is difficult to do because the waxed paper is shy of the 17 inches required. Transfer to an ungreased 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan. Press pastry onto the bottom and up the sides of pan (I just put it on the bottom because of the 17 inch issue); trim pastry even with top edge.
  • In a large bowl, toss the apples, sugar, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg; spread over crust. Roll out remaining pastry to fit top of pan; place over filling. Trim edges; brush edges between pastry with water or milk; pinch to seal. Cut slits in top.
  • Bake at 375° for 45-50 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack. Combine glaze ingredients until smooth; drizzle over bars before cutting. Fill small glasses (recommend shot size) with milk, place a bar atop and serve. Yield: about 2 dozen.

2 thoughts on “One thin after dinner mint, Monsieur?

Leave a Reply

