Posted in Cake

Declaration of Independence

Some time ago, when there was general malaise going around the house, I bought instant pudding (custard for the Brits) because Steve favors it when he is unwell.  That particular shopping trip I also purchased some deli olives and the olive container leaked onto my pudding packages; still edible, but unsightly in my cupboard.  I needed to use it up, but didn’t want to just make pudding ad nauseum.

Pistachio Nuts
Pistachio Nuts - photo credit luisi everystockphoto.com

Searching the Internet, I found a recipe for Pistachio Pudding Frosting, which would take care of one of the boxes.  Woohoo!  I whipped up a carrot cake recipe, which I baked as cupcakes, then made the frosting. 

I had a sudden realization that I had gone down the slippery slope.  I felt like I needed to photograph and blog this dessert.  I was my adorable nephew (son of my blogging sister) asking if the hot dog needed to be photographed before it was eaten.  OK, I wasn’t nearly as adorable, but I had reached the point where I felt I should dutifully record everything I made.

And then I rebelled.  I baked, frosted, and we enjoyed.  There are no pictures.  None.  Nada.  I have a wonderful sense of freedom!  That’s not to say I won’t put up fun things I make, but I have rid myself of the recently acquired notion that I can’t bake without posting.  Can we have some fireworks here?

But I will share the recipe, even though it’s a “cheater,” using a packaged something or other as one of the ingredients. 

Pistachio Pudding Frosting

Adapted from the Internet, author unknown
  • 1 (4 serving size) package instant pistachio pudding mix
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3 oz cream cheese (omit if you like — I added it because I was putting it on a carrot cake cupcake)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Prepare pudding mix according to package directions, using the 1 1/2 cups milk.

In a mixing bowl, beat butter, cream cheese and shortening on medium speed for 30 seconds.  Add powdered sugar to beaten mixture till light and fluffy.  Gradually add pudding, beating well.

Makes 3 3/4 cups, enough to frost top and sides of one 13x9x2-inch cake or tops and sides of two 8 or 9 inch cake layers.

Leave a Reply

