Posted in Cookies

Win me over Dibbler

Note the excellent wood working!
Note the excellent wood working!

Terry Pratchett is a brilliant British author who has created an alternate sphere of existence called Discworld, inhabited with residents who have an uncanny knack of resembling people we meet on a daily basis.  Yes, there are some who behave a lot like me too, which is rather an uncomfortable truth.

One of these characters is Cut Me Own Throat (C.M.O.T) Dibbler, a purveyor of questionable goods, most notably sausages.  Consumers take their life in peril when purchasing one of Dibbler’s food products, despite his protestations of their inherent goodness. 

As mentioned in this blog before, I’m not a big fan of peanut butter, so I was less than enthusiastic when Hope wanted to make a peanut butter cookie with chocolate.  It was akin to being asked to down a Dibbler special.  However, doing a Bing search, I came on what appeared to be a tasty looking cookie.  It was.  I’ll cut me own throat if I’m lying to you; they are good eating!

I present the pictures of them, unabashedly displayed on the bread peel my darling daughter made for me in wood shop.  I can hardly wait to take a loaf out of the oven on it, but for now cookies will suffice!

If they're not good, I'll cut me own throat!
If they're not good, I'll cut me own throat!

Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cookies

from Franci at frantichomecook.com

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup sifted powdered sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350 degree F. In a medium mixing bowl stir together flour, cocoa powder, and baking soda. In another mixing bowl, beat together butter, the 1/2 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, and the 1/4 cup peanut butter with an electric mixer until combined. Add the egg, milk, and vanilla; beat well. Beat in as much of the dry ingredients as you can with mixer. Stir in remaining dry ingredients by hand with a wooden spoon. I have a powerful Kitchen-Aid mega mixer which could mix cement so I used the mixer the entire time. Form chocolate dough into 32 balls about 1-1/4 inches in diameter.

For peanut butter filling, in a medium mixing bowl combine powdered sugar and the remaining 1/2 cup peanut butter until smooth. Shape mixture into 32 (3/4-inch) balls. On a work surface, slightly flatten a chocolate dough ball and top with a peanut butter ball. Shape the chocolate dough over the peanut butter filling, completely covering the filling. Roll dough into a ball. Repeat with the remaining chocolate dough and peanut butter filling balls.

Place balls 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake ‘em in for 8-10 minutes or until they’re just set and surface is slightly cracked. Let cookies stand for 1 minute. Transfer cookies to wire racks; cool. They will be slightly soft so don’t overbake ‘em.

2 thoughts on “Win me over Dibbler

  1. I find it difficult to understand how you can be Lynn’s sister and not love peanut butter! You two are choc and cheese!
    These look excellent. I love the centres.

    Like

    1. I have no clue as to why I don’t like peanut butter. My memories of lunches were tuna fish and tomato soup, so there was no PB overdose issues.

      These cookies really are good. Hope took some to her teachers the last week of class and had several requests for the recipe!

      Cheese. Mmmmmmmmmmm

      Like

Leave a Reply

