Posted in Cookies, family

Dad’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Best Chocolate Chip CookiesI was asked again today for my chocolate chip cookie recipe.  It’s my signature, which I can do without referencing the recipe card.  I’m happy to oblige and frequently send it out, however my neurons fired today (the coffee is good this morning) and decided, for ease of accesss, I will post it here; it’s always available.

The “Dad’s” referred to in the title is someone else’s dad.  I imagine mine could make a cookie if he wanted to, I’ve just never known him to try.   The original recipe came from Taste of Home in their section of Men Who Rule the Range.

Dad's Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Servings: 3 dozen
  • Time: 20 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 2/3  cup butter — softened
  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar — packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

In a mixing bowl, cream butter, shortening and sugars.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one.  Add vanilla; mix well.  Combine flour, salt and baking powder.  Add to the creamed mixture, just until blended; do not overmix.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 350º for 10-11 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool on wire racks.
I take mine out at 10 minutes because a softer cookie is a better cookie in my world.

NOTES : Alternative method – use 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup butterscotch chips or 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup mint chips…  whatever you fancy!

3 thoughts on “Dad’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’m always willing to try out a new chocolate chip cookie recipe! (They are my cookie of choice)
    I was dead impressed there, for a minute, that your Dad made chocolate chip cookies!
    Cheers

    Like

    1. My dad doesn’t make them, but he’ll cheerfully eat them. Somehow they never seem to make his cute bony knees any less so. The man has a body fat content of around .0000000236% 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

