Posted in books

Channeling literacy

One of my favorite books growing up was Ian Fleming’s Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, which of course bears no resemblance to the movie.  Please let it be noted here however, I will watch just about anything with Dick VanDyke, even when he’s doing his horrible English accent in Mary Poppins.

Back to our story.  The family, snoozing on the beach, becomes marooned as the tide comes in.  At the last minute the car shows yet another one of its amazing powers, turning into a motorboat and whisking them across the English Channel so they could find the bad guys in the chalky cliffs of France.  Apparently missing is any reference to several small blobs of land stuck in the middle of the waterway, close to France.   These are the Channel Islands, the only part of England to be occupied by the Germans during WWII.

While recent blogs may seem like a lovefest to my sister and her dear baking friend, nonetheless I must persist, having been loaned a copy of a marvelous book.  Melinda sent it to Lynn, who knew I would like it.  She was right.  The really cool part is I’ve read it before most of you because it doesn’t release in the US until May 5th!

I won’t spoil any of it for you, but highly recommend The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society!  The inhabitants of the island of Guernsey and their stories will captivate you.  It’s worth getting just to find out what a Potato Peel Pie is.

3 thoughts on “Channeling literacy

  1. I didn’t know it hadn’t come out in the USA yet. It’s been here ages now, and in paperback.
    Yes, I really enjoyed reading the book. I love how unlikely friendships were built over hard times and boredom! I am glad the book is making the rounds!

    Like

Leave a Reply

